

Dr. G. Narahari Sastry is currently working as the Director of CSIR-North East Institute of Science and Technology, Jorhat. Prof. Sastry is a chemist, working in the interdisciplinary areas spanning chemistry, biology, modeling and informatics. Dr. has been effective in employing Sastrv computational and theoretical methods to solve a problem in chemistry, biology and allied areas. These efforts are embedded not only to provide a robust platform for carrying out research in CADD but also to inculcate the culture of developing software packages. Under his guidance 29 people have completed Ph.D., 20 Post-doctoral fellows, 200 students have done internship or short-term projects. In his career, he has visited over 25 countries and delivered more than 450 lectures in international and national conferences/workshops/seminars.

After taking over the leadership of CSIR-NEIST, he has established centres of excellence in (Minister of chemical and fertilizers) Petroleum research, (CSIR) Infectious diseases, (DBT) Advanced computing and data science, (DBT) Bionest, (NMPB)RCFC, and (DONOR ministry) STINER which are aimed to trigger research and development activities for the benefit of north-east population. His research work was published in about 320 research papers and reviews, which received over 12500 citations, with an h-index of 54. Prof. Sastry was awarded with Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize in Chemical Sciences (2011), (considered as one of the highest prize for science and engineering in India) National Bioscience award, DBT 2009, (one of the highest for Life sciences in India), Swarnajayanthi Fellowship 2005 (DST), B.M. 2001, BC Deb Memorial award (2009), CRSI Medal 2011, and Alexander von Birla award for Humboldt Fellowship. He is also recipient of Sir J. C. Bose National Fellowship of DST. He was a visiting professor at IMS, Japan; LMU, Munich, Germany; Jackson State University, USA, and Kyushu University, Japan. He is a Fellow of Fellow of INSA (FNA), National Academy of Sciences (FNASc), Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences (FASc), fellow of Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC), Fellow of Association of Biotechnology and Pharmacy, Telangana State Academy of Sciences (Founder Fellow) and Andhra Pradesh Academy of Sciences (FAPAS) and also Fellow of Biotech Research Society, India (BRSI).